NOW What ?!

1 May

El nuevo disco de Deep Purple, NOW What ?!, aparece ocho años después de su último trabajo, Rapture of the Deep, y de una gira mundial de proporciones épicas. Al contrario de lo que se puede leer en diversas webs “profesionales”, este álbum se encuentra entre los mejores del Mk VIII (Gillan, Paice, Glover, Morse y Airey); por encima de Bananas y de Rapture of the Deep.

2013

NOW What ?! 2013

Esperábamos un disco crepuscular, una obra que diese el punto final a un grupo que ha estado de gira continua durante más de 40 años; esperábamos la retirada de unos músicos físicamente envejecidos. Pero no, NOW What ?! es una ráfaga heavy de aire fresco. Encontramos un sonido oscuro y pesado al mismo tiempo que reinventado: heavy metal clásico, hard rock, blues, arreglos orquestales, un poco de country y –atención–, un fragmento de hipnótico downtempo en un disco de 58 minutos de duración.

Cada canción, de las 12 que componen la edición limitada, es un poema. Son canciones acordes a la voz actual de Gillan. Han sido escritas por todos los miembros del grupo junto a Bob Ezrin, excepto It’ll Be Me, que fue escrita por Jack Clement. Fue grabado en The Tracking Room y Anarchy Studios (Nashville, Tennessee). Además, algo casi inaudito en Deep Purple pero que encontramos en este disco, es la participación de músicos adicionales: Jason Roller (guitarra acústica), Eric Darken (percusión), Mike Johnson (guitarra steel), David Hamilton (teclado adicional), estudiantes de la Nimbus School of Recording Arts (coros), Bob Ezrin (coros y percusión adicional).

1. A Simple Song

Time it does not matter. But time is all we have to think about. The road it has no end. Crossroads every turn and so it goes. Once you sang a simple song. It goes confused. Went on too long. Why does the promise fade. You lie on the bed you made. Stranger than fiction further from the truth. Beyond imagination those seeds have taken root. Wild as a dream could be. From black and white to blue and red. Golden circles float above your head. Once you sang a simple song. It goes confused and now it’s gone. Once you sang a simple song. It all went wrong. Time it does not matter. Time is all we have.

2. Weirdistan

We travel through time and meet on a stretch of sand. You’re from up north and I live in wonderland. Dear neighbour of mine we’re centuries, light years apart. You carry no flame but you’re visible in the dark. Way across the border all those people waving flags. Sending me encouragement but I can’t move. Something holds me back. The man in the moon is looking the other way. And while he’s distracted we turn to another page. No question of guilt, it seems like we’re just out of sync. You do what you will and I’ll do what I think. Imagine when you wake up, scratch your head, and everything’s changed. Nothing’s where you left it, your normality’s been rearranged. It’s beautiful. Oh yeah, it’s beautiful. Leave our skin as we merge into one. O yeah, it’s beautiful. It’s beautiful. Beautiful.

3. Out of Hand

Shiny silver faces, coloured paper falling into their hand. Never to be seen again it must have been a one night stand. Up until the dawn I could have sworn that everything was alright. Thieving bastards stole my life and legged it off into the night. It’s a dirty business it’s a dirty game. Everybody different but they’re all the same. They draw you in you hear a siren call. Build you up so they can see you fall. You’ve seen it all before. Been there since time began. You know what’s coming next. Everything gets out of hand. They’ve got the lot and god knows what they think that the deserve even More. Psychopathic tendencies, they’ve got a lot of answer for. Scratch my back and I’ll stab Yours, no wonder it’s a universall sickness. Who are they, you well might ask, come with me and you can be my witness. It’s a dirty business it’s a crying shame. You blink your eye and all the laws have changed. They draw you in you hear a siren call. Build you up so they can see you fall. You’ve seen it all before. Been there since time begann. You know what’s coming next. Everything gets out of hand. It’s a dirty business it’s crying shame. You blink your eye and all the laws have changed. They say the vulture is a bird of prey. No-one told me it would come this way. You seen it all before. Been there since time began. You know what’s coming next. Everything, everything gets out of hand.

4. Hell to Pay

Take pity on two-tone Eddie. His hair was never right. He used to be cool with a glint in his eye. But he lost it overnight. Spinning world is changing, things are rearranging. But Eddie says to me. Nothing wrong with the way it was. That’s the way it’s meant to be. Up the revolution we’re all prepared to die. Up the revolution that was the battle cry. There’s gonna be Hell. Hell to pay. There’s gonna be Hell. Hell to pay. Eddie was a die-hard rebel in the good old days of way back when. A cigarette was cool and all the kids in school could read and count to ten. Everyone said he had a future bright of that there was no doubt. He never could make us understand what the rebellion was all about. Up the revolution we’re all prepared to die. Up the revolution that was the battle cry. There’s gonna be Hell. Hell to pay. There’s gonna be Hell. Hell to pay. Two-tone eddie drew up battle plans for making love not war. Everybody laughed at the fighting in the streets from behind a guarded door. It came to nothing when it all went down and the band began to play. Another plan put your head in the sand live to fight another day. Up the revolution we’re all prepared to die. Up the revolution that was the battle cry. There’s gonna be Hell. Hell to pay. There’s gonna be Hell. Hell to pay. There’s gonna be Hell. Hell to pay. There’s gonna be Hell.

5. Body Line

I’ve been watching you dancing all night long. Your legs go on forever. Exquisite synchronicity, they never stayed together. My head’s spinning, keeping focused on my mind and building this. I don’t know who you are but I’m enslaved to make your service. Makes you fall in line. A moving silhouette. It’s your body line. You do that thing you read. Make you fall in line. Clearly defined. It’s your body line. A perfect outline, so divine. Chilling to half it must’ve been hazy. Smoking my eye a poppin. Fight for your country, you got something to gain. No one but Mike Jones driving. Girl come in and out, my excuse to get me is in danger. No will but that’s like just emptied it. Wouldn’t wanna be disillusion. Makes you fall in line. So heavenly ashamed. It’s your body line. My oh my, oh my, oh my. Make you fall in line. A perfect outline, so divine. Body line. When we’re moving, connection. Well bring me to the main view. It seems to want distraction. But what I need. Makes you fall in line. A moving silhouette. It’s your body line. You do that thing you read. Make you fall in line. Clearly defined. It’s your body line, body line. A perfect outline, so divine.

6. Above and Beyond

Light turn the candle. I spark one for me. Let it float on the water. Right down to the sea. You draw back your curtain. A wavy goodbye. Lift up your arms. And look up to the sky. To the sky! Stop me a candle. And keep it in the light. Thought it pairing window. And I come back tonight. You touch me in the darkness. I send you a sign. A give me your loving. And I’ll give you mine. I’m maybe leaving. But I won’t be gone. I’ll be there when you want me. Above and beyond. You’re fading like I tell you. It’s all up to you. I’ll be there if you’ll need me. If I get it through. Reached on your settlers. And tomorrow you’ll find. Your souls had been touched. Are forever entwined. I’m maybe leaving. But I won’t be gone. I’ll be there when you want me. Above and beyond. Yes I’m maybe leaving. But not for too long. I’ll be there when you want me. Above and beyond.

7. Blood from a Stone

There’s a shadow in the hole where my door used to be. You never give up you want more out of me. Come on in. Help yourself. Scratch around. Look at these empty shelves. Nothing left that I can see. Except a string of beads and some old potpourri. You rip flesh from the bone. You suck blood from a stone. I will consider a life of crime. So I can feed these kids of mine. And should I falter. Should I fail. Spend the rest of my days in some stinking jail. I will know who left me empty inside. Stripped of my dignity. Low and dry. You left me nothing. But I don’t care. You rip flesh from the bone. You suck blood from a stone. You robbed me blind without a gun. How do you sleep after what you’ve done. There’s nothing bur darkness deep in your soul. There’s no reflection. It’s dark and it’s cold. You rip flesh from the bone. You suck blood from a stone.

8. Uncommon Man

Things fall together in time. Who said you can’t  have it all. The beast in the room. Heavy kind of feeling. It’s got to be twenty foot tall. But the man is standing high. Oh, oh, oh, it’s good to be king. Standing together again. Everyone starting to sway. Up on a hill. Close to the sky. Oh, it’s a fabulous day. And the man is walking tall. Oh, oh, oh, it’s good to be king. Bow your head, the carriage is waiting to take you away. Remember the feeling. Remember the day. Believe what you’re seeing. As the ladies-in-waiting drift away. It’s good to be king. Ah, it’s good to be king. It’s good to be king. Yes, it’s good to be king.

9. Après Vous

You should’a been there at the start of the game. To witness what we said. Me, Steve and the usual bull. ‘Bout the awesome night ahead. Well that was the plan you understand. The prospect for our mission. Nothing could possible go awry. Until we lost our inhibition. Then we hit the Red Lights. And the Michelin girls. Anither life. Another world. Well you go ahead. I’ll quench my thirst. Après vous. You saw her first. Things got looser as the tend to do. More liquefied confusion. As we displayed our skill of romance. And the art of self-delusion. We were the chosen few and our confidence grew. Depends on where you’re standing. Despite what you think it’s only a blink between take-off and landing. Red Lights. And Michelin girls. Another life. Another world. Well you go ahead. I’ll quench my thrist. Après vous. You saw her first. C’mon man. Fill your boots. It’s a bust. So what can you do. Yes, I know that she wants me too. But I can’t jump the queue. So après vous.

10. All the Time in the World

There’s still a long way to go. And the nights are closing in. But if I’d travelled any faster babe. Lord knows where I might have been. Right from those early days I put my faith in the axle not the wheels. Like old Zeno’s toytus. With Achilles snapping at my heels. Don’t worry. There’s no hurry. Here we are. With all the time in the world. I could have been a high-flying dealer. But I have no desire for speed. I could have been a wild receiver. But I’ve got everything I need. And so I watch the world. Go racing by tearing up the street. I lay back in the long grass. Take it easy and rest my feet. Don’t worry. You know, there’s no hurry. Here we are. With all the time in the world. No-one ever held me back. You know that no-one ever put me in chains. No-one ever saw me racing ahead. No-one had to tug on my reins. As everybody knows I may be slow but I never quit. Sometimes on a good day I sit and think. Sometimes I just sit. Don’t worry. Relax, there’s no hurry. Here we are. With all the time in the world.

11. Vincent Price

Lightning flashing on a heavy iron gate. Scares me to death but I just can’t wait. Deep in the dungeon there’s a rattling of chains.  Mad dr. Phibes gonna eat my brains. It feels so good to be afraid. Vincent Price is back again. The heart pumping louder. The music’s out of time. The vampire’s dying. He’s got to have wine. Red blood dripping, she doesn’t have a prayer. I know it’s not real but I just don’t care. It feels so good to be afraid. Vincent price is back again. I want seven screaming virgins on a sacrificial altar. Howling dogs, creaking doors and zombies to die for.

El artwork, de corte minimalista, como gusta en la actualidad, fue diseñado por Antje Warnecke. En el libreto se encuentra una sesión de fotos promocional a cargo de Jim Rakete.

Gira Oficial 2013

Gira Oficial 2013

Dedicado a JON LORD

Dedicado a JON LORD

Edición limitada CD+DVD

Edición limitada CD+DVD

Libreto+CD+DVD

Libreto+CD+DVD

2 comentarios to “NOW What ?!”

  1. Ricardo Raúl Bonfilio 7 mayo, 2013 a 6:13 PM #

    Después de 39 años de escuchar a Deep Purple, es difícil hacerlo dejando el corazón de lado, por lo tanto: FUERON, SON y SERAN: LO MAXIMO!!! GRACIAS POR “NOW WHAT?!”.

  2. PABLOPURPURA 21 mayo, 2013 a 8:13 PM #

    Un Muchas Gracias gigantesco para la gente que hace Burnig Deep Purple y para Gigeson por facilitarnos las letras completas de esta nueva obra de la mejor banda del mundo.Me gustó mucho el video del tema Vincent Price y solo faltaría agregar que por suerte podamos disfrutar de estos músicos virtuosos durante mucho tiempo más.Desde Bs.As.un abrazo Purpleros

Responder

